Netrunner Online

Death from Above

Netrunner Proteus
Netrunner Death from Above
 
Card Name:Death from Above
Set: Netrunner Proteus
Language: en
Number: 64 / 154
Rarity: Rare
Player: Runner
Card Type: --
Installation Cost: 0
Rules Text:

Trash: Trash, at no cost, all cards installed in a subsidiary data fort, even if they cannot normally be trashed. Use this ability only when you have just successfully made a run on that fort, and before accessing cards from that fort.

Hidden resources are installed face down, but are put into the trash face up.
Flavor Text: "They drop rocks; I commandeer battlesats."
Illustration: Zak Plucinski
Copyright: v2.1 1996 WotC
Versions of this Card
1 Death from Above 64 / 154 Netrunner Proteus (en) v2.1 1996 WotC
Prototype & Rulings
 
Player: Runner
Card Name:Death from Above
Card Type: --
Installation Cost: 0
Rules Text:

Trash: Trash, at no cost, all cards installed in a subsidiary data fort, even if they cannot normally be trashed. Use this ability only when you have just successfully made a run on that fort, and before accessing cards from that fort.

Hidden resources are installed face down, but are put into the trash face up.
Additional Card Rulings & Errata
  Ruling Source Date
If you trash cards that you don't see, and you play a card that provides a bonus or effect that depends on what card was trashed, (cf. On the Fast Track), you can ask the Corp if you trashed the appropriate type of card, but you may not look at the trashed cards or the Archives to verify this. If necessary, you can ask a third party to verify the Corp's answer. Tom Wylie via JD Wiker
Netrunner-L
03/11/1996
The Corp can rez nodes and upgrades before the run is considered successful; for instance, Dr. Dreff can throw ice in front of the Runner before the Runner can activate Death from Above. JD Wiker
Netrunner-L
02/19/1997
When Death From Above meets New Galveston City Grid, the "normal cost to trash" the cards in the fort becomes the cost of DFA's effect, so the Runner must still pay the additional 2 bits per node and other upgrades installed inside the fort. If the Runner can't pay the cost for ALL of the nodes and other upgrades, the Runner cannot use DFA's effect. The Runner only has to pay for upgrades or nodes that have been rezzed or exposed. Skipper Pickle
Netrunner-L
11/04/1997
Trivia

"Death From Above" or "DFA" is a term from the game BattleTech, where one Mech using jump jets trys to jump on the head of an enemy Mech.

"Death From Above" is written on the helicopter of Lieutenant Colonel Bill Kilgore in the 1979 Vietnam War film "Apocalypse Now".

Read more on Wikipedia
0 Comments

Comment on this Card

Please Login to comment.
Estimated Value
Pricelist Upper Median Lower
Tuff Stuff's Gamer
March/April 1998
- - $4.00
59 Instances (amoung 27 Users)
User Location QTY
Expand 
Gronk US   3
profligate CA   11
Frank US   1
g126 BR   3
Gary US   6
Ubiq US   1
mAdAk US   3
NoshrokGrimskul DE   3
Quaeritate NZ   5
Caronte ES   1
Graou FR   1
Sean BE   1
Eric US   1
Rich US  (US) 1
Lee US   1
Badgob US   3
RanceMohammitz AU  (AU) 1
WilsonWeeflerunR BE   2
Grigorij 2
IceEdge ES   1
kleric US   1
Jason US   2
Siriel PL   1
Aquilonien CA   1
Xombe CA  (CA) 1
Anthony 1
younuri KS   1

© 2008–2015 Netrunner Online. Support | Contribute

This site is an unofficial resource for the Netrunner CCG by Wizards of the Coast and was not produced, commissioned or endorsed by Wizards of the Coast.

Netrunner is 1996 Wizards of the Coast, Inc. Cyberpunk 2020, Cyberpunk, and Netrunner therein are trademarks of R.Talsorian Games, Inc. Copyrights in certain text, graphic designs, characters, and places derived from Cyberpunk 2020 are the property of R. Talsorian Games, Inc., and are produced under license to Wizards of the Coast, Inc.

Deckmaster and Wizards of the Coast are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast Inc.